Life Events

That Girl’s Taken! ๐Ÿ’

I know it’s been FOREVER since I last posted anything. And well, that’s about the same sentence as the beginning of my last post too (hehe, guilty here).

But by now, you probably have known that when I posted something means there is something worth celebrating…. *drum rolls*

I got MARRIED!! ๐ŸŽ‰

(There are a lot of ways to tell this story, and honestly I dont know if i’ll ever do enough justice to how I actually feel. Here we go.)

I’ve always imagined myself as a hopeless romantic. I tend to see my future soulmate in a rose-colored glasses. And I have fairytale-esque expectations on relationships. I watch rom coms ALL the time. And then rewatch them again to go through the moments when the main characters actually fall in love, just to feel mushy inside. I loooove handwritten letters and sentimental gifts. Since teen, my berangan has always been the same idea, just different settings, and different persons (depending on who were my crush at that time ๐Ÿ˜‚). I’ve always imagine my partner to be so cool and so charming, he knows how to sweep me off my feet every time.

Irsyad, on the other hand, is the exact opposite of whatever that is in my mind. In better words, he is a realist or a practical person. During the first few months of meeting him, I know for sure that he is not the type of person who would open the car door for me, or know what to say when I’m upset. He doesn’t know that he needs to bring flowers on a date or send the girl to the door after spending the day. But then again, despite all that, I remember vividly saying to myself, ‘Untung siapa jadi isteri dia‘. And this was me having no feelings for him (yet).

Why? Because he is the most selfless person I have ever met.

And I’m glad Irsyad is who he was when I first met him. I might have to teach him a two or three on how to be romantic, but he sure have tolerated more than his fair share of the relationship. I was a full blown mess myself. And with my berangan sampai ke langit, he’s like a rock that keeps me grounded.

We might not know exactly when we first met, or when we became friends, or who actually made the first move. But one thing for sure, we know that we’re meant for each other โค๏ธ (And also because Irsyad somehow, mysteriously, berjaya amek hati mommy. Which is still a mystery to me!).

Our wedding was held five months ago and Alhamdulillah, everything was beautiful. It was a close event with limited number of invitees. Nikah was held in the evening, followed by the reception at night. It was joined by our family and my friends from sekolah rendah, to Seri Pekan, to TGB, and some of my colleagues. Truth be told, there are some things that I still have to come to terms with (story for another time), but regardless, Allah is the best planner and I dont want to lose sight of the most important thing. That I get to be with the best person ever โ™ฅ๏ธโœจ

Going into this new phase of life, I would like to humbly ask forgiveness to everyone for any of my wrong doings. If I ever hurt or offend you in any way intentionally or unintentionally, please know that I am deeply sorry and you may reach out to me if need to.

To everyone who came to our wedding and share our happiness, thank you for such a magical night. For those of you that we didn’t get to invite, please know that it is not in our intention to leave anyone out. Please keep us in your prayers and may Allah shower us with sakinah, mawaddah, and rahmah.

People say the first year of marriage is tough – five months in and they are right! And each day only convinces me more that I couldn’t have chosen a better partner.

And I truly am untung sebab dapat jadi isteri irsyad hehe ๐Ÿฅฐ

Leave a comment