Utes

Zions National Park, UT

Thanksgiving and Black Friday was a lot more like a blergh this year (I still spent almost $300 tho, I know right??!! ๐Ÿ˜“). Last year we had a chance to spend Thanksgiving, real-American-style, at Auntie Uji’s place, but the luck isn’t in our favor this year, especially my house, none of us get invited ๐Ÿ˜ญ.ย 

Anyway, lepak-ing at home doing nothing is still not a way to spend my 4-days holiday, so I joined Team Zuzu to Zion NP! It’s my second time and I’ve aimed to reach the Angel’s Landing, since I didnt get to finish the whole hike on my first trip with bob, kak lina, hakim, and other seniors. It’s a 9 hours journey to-and-from.ย 

The first 2 hours journey to Zion NP was filled with Forum Perdana hosted by Ety, with topics ranged from ‘Is it true that boys only like pretty girls’ to ‘Can boys really love two persons at the same time’ to polygamy. Well, it wasn’t that big range of topics, and was mainly aimed at boys ๐Ÿ˜ but yeah, fun enough to keep the driver (Kapten Irsyad) awake.

We stopped at a gas station before the national park’s entrance for Subuh prayer and some light breakfast. The first hike wasn’t that hard (I totally forgot the trail name, sorrry!), more like a refreshing warmup. I swear the hike wasnt that long but we spent almost 2 hours (I think ๐Ÿ˜) taking pictures, enjoying the sceneries, and everything.

IMG_5608

IMG_5591
Cross-beddings and a fault on far left? #geonerds

The second hike was to the gorgeous Emerald pool :). We finished up to the third stage of the hike and the end point was just mesmerizing. It was probably 2 hours loop trail, but yes plus an extra 1-2 hours of taking selfies along the way.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset
Look at those cool rocks ๐Ÿ˜ฑ!!! and oh yes, the so-awesome hikers.
IMG_5874
Pardon these fossils ๐Ÿ˜…

IMG_5880

Then, we had lunch of some accidentally-salty fried chicken, sambal sotong, white rice, and really breezy wind that left our hand to freeze. Oh, and the dessert, a chocolate cake especially made by Fish for Saha’s birthday! It was really good ๐Ÿ˜‹ Our friends from Colorado ended their hiking trip after lunch to head back to Boulder, as it will take them almost 11 hours to drive back to Colorado.

After Zuhur, we continue our hiking adventure, with Angel’s Landing on the list!! Well, they did actually, because I was so tired staying up all night teman Irsyad drive, I started to get cranky and moody. So I decided to take a nap in the car, and there went my goal ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ. But on behalf of healthy happy in-car environment back to SLC, I know that I seriously need the nap.

IMG_5844
Wefies from the top of Angels Landing ๐Ÿ˜Žbut no me ๐Ÿ˜ฃ
IMG_5870
Special photo of birthday boy who claimed to have the worst birthday ever ๐Ÿ˜‚
IMG_5675
These two drove me crazier each passing seconds, but are the best company I could ask for ๐Ÿ˜˜

And finally, right after Maghrib, we drove back home, stopped by at HongKong seafood buffet at Cedar city for only $11 per head, and was welcomed home by white SLC covered and showered by snow flakes and midnight city lights ๐Ÿ˜. Oh if only i have pictures to share.

Leave a comment